Compulsory School Chess

Apparently Armenia is making Chess a compulsory part of the curriculum: for 2 hours each week, kids will be taught Chess at school. Apparently the whole country loves Chess and there are several Grandmasters.

I would have loved the option of playing Chess at school; there wasn’t even a Chess club. I remember finding a Chess set and missing Tennis lessons in favour of playing games.

I’m not sure about the compulsory aspect of the plan, but I do think the experience will be valuable from the perspective of providing an experience unlike most others available at school. At worst, it can’t be more of a waste of time than the stupid things I was forced to do in my childhood.

Leave a Reply

