12 Angry Men

I hate preachy movies, I hate depressing movies, I hate overdramatic movies, and I really hate preachy, depressing, overdramatic movies. So it was with great trepidation that I sat down to watch this black-and-white 50s classic with the foreboding title.

I was pleasantly surprised by the old-style naturalistic acting and direction, the minimalist setup (99% of the movie takes place in the jury room, with almost all the information available to the viewer), and the detective-style clues. There were no annoying political screeds.

I enjoyed the negotiation, the navigation of the personalities and motivations, and the logical reasoning involved in the story.

Leave a Reply

