Date Night (The Film)

No, I’m not talking about one of my own dates (lol), I’m talking about the Tina Fey/ Steve Carrell movie. I liked it, despite the somewhat amateurish/cheap-looking cinematography and the so-so jokes. It’s the kind of good-natured movie I want to like more than it’s worthy of.

On the plus side was the awkward humour (I liked Carrell’s jealousy), depictions of domesticity, good-heartedness, ad-libbing, and decent characterisations of the main characters (the minor characters are cardboard cutouts) and the difficulties of relationships. On the negative side was the way the exterior shots seemed like a student video, the over-emoting by minor characters, and the low density of good jokes.

Leave a Reply

