Rurouni Kenshin Live-Action

I was perturbed when I heard about the Rurouni Kenshin live-action movie – having seem several anime-to-movie adaptations, I expected something heavily simplified, with low production values and a tenuous link to the source material.

It turns out that my concerns were misplaced; Rurouni Kenshin adapts the main story from the first season and brings to life all the major characters. Somehow they get away with Kenshin actually having orange hair and being relatively girly (it’s Japan I suppose) – Saitou even has his characteristic hairdo. I was surprised how much they managed to pack into its runtime.

The fight scenes are well depicted and choreographed – even Kenshin running to the rescue and not fighting had me sit up in my seat.

If you’re looking for subtle arthouse film go elsewhere – this is pure entertainment and an excellent adaptation.

Leave a Reply

