Inside Out Underworld Rogue Nation

Sadly I didn’t enjoy Inside Out as much as I hoped to. While it was entertaining, it wasn’t able to overcome my bias against CGI flicks. There were some nice metaphors for the brain, a good enough story, decent senses of place, and an interesting philosophical inversion, but it fell flat for me.

I watched Underworld 1 and 2, and they were entertaining enough. I liked that most characters had English accents, and that there was some lore behind it, but the main characters didn’t have enough personality. In the first movie, the final fight was over too quickly, and the hybrid thing didn’t work for me. The second movie bugged me with issues about the timeline and geography that seemed like screw-ups.

The fifth Mission Impossible was pretty decent; my hatred for Tom Cruise didn’t flare up because his character was pretty unobjectionable. The female lead was unusually interesting, lending some ambiguity to the storyline that disappears too early. Unfortunately there was pretty much only one heist, and the villain was weak as always.

Leave a comment